Thread: Electronic brake controler question

Electronic brake controler question

Hi all, a simple question I'm sure but I'm new to towing. I just purchased and installed a Brake-Force electronic control unit. On the unit their is a red button and in the directions it says "vertical slide for manual override". What is this? I'm also trying to figure out how to set the brake pressure. From what I gather do I drive forward at 10-20mph then hit that red button to activate the trailer brakes and see how it slow's me? Adjust with + or - buttons from there.
    Thanks, Randy

So you've got an electronic brake control. I've driving many miles with a trailer brake. You must have a class III or IV hitch plus a trailer with it's own brakes. I've looked up the towing class of the Discovery and have failed to find anything (but I'd be surprised if it's great than a Class I).

The override allows you to apply the brake to a trailer with your hand. Remember, the electronic brake is either ON or OFF so it doesn't increase braking pressure like your foot does. When you slide the control, your trailer brakes go on. There are rare times you would apply the trailer brakes without the draw vehicle braking as well.

The +or- adjusts how hard your vehicle has to be stopping before the trailer brakes go on. If you set it too light, your trailer will skid when you lightly touch your brakes. The inverse, your trailer will not brake soon enough and it will push you forward. When you get it properly adjusted, you will never skid any tires and the braking load will be evenly distributed to all braking axles.

Bill of Green Achers Farms
    Adventure for fellow Geeks! Geocaching
    Land Rover Repair Manual - Download Site
    1. 1996 Discovery I - Yet to be named
    2. 1998 Discovery I - "Kermit"
    3. 2000 Discovery II - Parts Donor

My LR3 came pre-wired for both flat 4 and 6 pin connectors so I purchased this kit from Rover parts: http://www.roverparts.com/Parts/ETBCA.cfm